

HAMILTON POLICE SERVICES BOARD

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE SEPTEMBER 30, 2021 **Board Members**

Fred Eisenberger, Chair Fred Bennink, Vice Chair Mel Athulathmudali Robert Elms Jason Farr Tom Jackson Patricia Mandy

Kirsten Stevenson, Administrator

HAMILTON POLICE SERVICES BOARD WELCOMES NEW BOARD MEMBER

The Hamilton Police Services Board is pleased to announce that Councillor Jason Farr will be sitting on its Board as one if its three representatives from city council, effective immediately.

At its meeting on September 29, 2021, city council passed a motion appointing Councillor Farr to sit on the Hamilton Police Services Board for the remainder of the 2018–2022 term of council. Mr. Farr replaces former Board Member Chad Collins. Mr. Collins sat on the Police Services Board from February through November 2014 and from December 2018 until his resignation in September of 2021.

The Hamilton Police Services Board is comprised of seven members. According to the *Ontario Police Services Act*, the Board is to consist of the head of the municipal council, two members of council, three individuals appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, and one individual appointed by resolution of council.

The Board is responsible for the provision of adequate and effective police services in the municipality. Its authority is set out in Section 31 of the *Ontario Police Services Act*.

Phone: 905-546-2727

Fax: 905-546-4720

For more information, please contact:

Kirsten Stevenson, Board Administrator <u>kirsten.stevenson@hamilton.ca</u>
www.hamiltonpolice.on.ca/about/police-services-board