

HAMILTON POLICE SERVICES BOARD

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE DECEMBER 8, 2022

Board Members Pat Mandy, Chair Fred Bennink, Vice Chair Mel Athulathmudali Geordie Elms Andrea Horwath Cameron Kroetsch Esther Pauls

Kirsten Stevenson, Administrator

SUBJECT: NEW AND RETURNING MEMBERS OF THE HAMILTON POLICE SERVICES BOARD

The Hamilton Police Services Board is comprised of seven members. According to the *Ontario Police Services Act,* it will consist of three members of Council, three members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, and one member appointed by resolution of Council.

The Hamilton Police Services Board is pleased to announce the following Board member appointments by the City of Hamilton Municipal Council at their November 16, 2022 meeting:

- Mayor Andrea Horwath, Council Appointee
- Councillor Cameron Kroetsch, Council Appointee
- Councillor Esther Pauls, Council Appointee

Their appointment terms are November 15, 2022 through November 14, 2026.

Other Members of the Board include:

- Chair Pat Mandy, Provincial Appointee (Apr 1, 2021 Mar 1, 2023)
- Vice Chair Bennink, Citizen Council Appointee (Mar 27, 2019 TBD)
- Member Mel Athulathmudali, Provincial Appointee (Sep 10, 2020 Sep 10, 2023)
- Member Geordie Elms, Provincial Appointee (Mar 7, 2022 Mar 7, 2025)

The City of Hamilton Police Services Board is the civilian body governing the Hamilton Police Service. We are responsible for the provision of adequate and effective police services, law enforcement and crime prevention within the City, a duty we discharge through the enactment of policies. The Board will generally determine, after consultation with the Chief of Police, objectives and priorities for the police service. The Board is responsible for the police budget, oversees the actions of the Chief of Police and is the employer for the police service.

For more information, please contact: Kirsten Stevenson, Board Administrator <u>kirsten.stevenson@hamilton.ca</u> www.hamiltonpolice.on.ca/about/police-services-board