Hamilton Police Honour Acts of Bravery During Police Week

Last night at the Hamilton Police Service Annual Awards Night, awards were presented to members of the service and the public in recognition of exemplary performance, acts of bravery and outstanding service to the community.

“This is an important event for our community and our service as we collectively honour and celebrate the achievements of our citizens and our members. The awards symbolize the great accomplishments the honourees have received but they are merely a token of our gratitude for everything our recipients have done to make Hamilton a better place,” said Chief Girt.

The Member of the Year was awarded to Communications Operator Christa MacLanders for her role in helping a human trafficking victim get to safety. Her creative questioning techniques helped police locate the victim who did not know where she was and was being held against her will.

The prestigious Leonard G. Lawrence Award was presented to Constable Mike Eleftheriou for his volunteer work in helping a senior living in challenging conditions remain in her home. Thanks to his efforts, he was able to connect her with resources to help restore her quality of life.

A further 52 officers and 9 civilians were awarded exemplary service honours for their dedication to Hamilton Police Service.

The following Awards were also presented to members and civilians for their extraordinary accomplishments in life-saving incidents, determination and exemplary service.

Chorus Angel Award

Erin Connell

Tiger Grove Award

Perry Mason

Thomas J. Fitzgerald Memorial Award

Det Cst Kris David

Det Cst Kenneth Kaija

Victim Services Branch Award of Distinction

Sexual Assault Unit

Jim Elliott Memorial “Just Go Home” Safe Driving Award

Division Three Patrol

ProAction Award: Commitment to Police-Youth Programs Award

Det Cst Trevor Bland “Blue Line Challenge”

ProAction Award: Most Innovative Police-Youth Program Award

Det Sgt Shane Groombridge “Cool Kids Getting Cops Cold”

ProAction Award: Youth Award

Jadea Hachey “Cool Kids Getting Cops Cold”

John Petz Problem Oriented Policing Award

Project Triple Threat

Partnership Awards

Awarded to citizens who have actively participated in making their community a safer place to live.

  • Susan Andrew and Heather Peter
  • Sar Buland Chaudhary
  • Denise Christie
  • Gerald Guillemette
  • Robert Punzalan
  • Sarbjit Singh

Courage Awards

Presented to citizens who have acted heroically by risking life or personal safety to help others in need.

  • Adam and Tamara Bentley
  • Miles Davren and Mariusz Krukowski
  • Mark Hodgson
  • Kimberly Lowe
  • Natalie Sobel
  • Jordan Southall

Jim Antinori Auxiliary Award

Auxiliary Staff Sergeant Karen Wallace

Marg Marshall Award for Outstanding Volunteer Leadership

Stephanie Pascoal